No Resolutions For Me

It has been about 2 months since my last blog post! I can’t believe how fast time can slip by. So many things have happened since the last blog post such as:

-I GOT ENGAGED!
-1GN went on our Christmas mall tour
-Christmas happened
-we finished our second album
-photoshoot for the second album
-LIFE.

Now, I am sitting in a coffee shop in Wimberly, TX thinking about all the stuff that I need to get done and what all I want to do differently this next year. This is the time of year for most people to make resolutions and goals for the next year. But it’s always the same ole same ole. We make resolutions…we keep them for a couple of months…then we go back to how it was. So this year I am going to go about things differently. I’m not making a resolution. That’s right. I am rebelling against resolutions. Instead, I will be doing 3 things:

1. making to-do lists
2. thinking positively
3. creating new opportunities for my life.

(See, I’ve already started with my to-do lists;))

MAKING TO DO LISTS
I have become a huge believer in making lists. My memory usually isn’t the best so when I make a mental note to remember something, I most times forget what I wanted to remember. Right now I am making lots of to-do lists for my wedding planning, songs I need to choreograph for 1GN for the next year, and things to get done for my personal life. These can be really big picture like things I want to get done over the course of the next year, or they can be lists of things to do just for tomorrow. Either way, this is something I am going to try to keep up with this next year to keep me on task and less overwhelmed. I’ll even incorporate it into my calendar and make a list of days I will work out and time that I will put towards taking care of my body. Lists are our best friends.

THINKING POSITIVELY
This is something that in 2014 was really hard for me to do. Especially in my work life with 1GN, there were so many struggles and mountains we faced this year that left me feeling really discouraged. It was everything from finances to time away from family and friends to things not going the way I’d planned. All things that would leave me feeling down and would hinder me from moving forward in life. This year is going to be different. The Bible says to think about the things that are good, pure, and lovely. Being able to focus on these things are easier said than done, especially when the frustrations of life can blind us from the good things going on around us. Let’s be honest, how bad can our life really be? I know I have a healthy body, a roof over my head, and plenty to eat. That is more than most of the world can say! God has truly blessed me, so I want to live this year with a thankful mindset, thinking positively about my situations!

CREATING NEW OPPORTUNITIES FOR MY LIFE
This is something that I am learning the more I get older. If you want something in life, you have to work for it! This year is going to require A LOT of work and I am ok with that. On the work side of my life, I spend most of 2014 constantly worrying about how I was going to pay bills, frustrated that I wasn’t making more money, and fearful of the future. Looking back, I should have spent more of that time making my own way to financial success. This year I am not sitting back and letting other people run my life. I am taking life by the reins and being creative to make the most of situations. Money isn’t everything, but I hope that in 2015, I have more of it to bless others with and to build a life with my new husband starting this August!

No more broken resolutions for me this year. I am focusing on growing closer to Jesus so that I can make the most of 2015 and create a LIFESTYLE that will last longer than 2015…a lifetime!

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 “For do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.”

Philippians 4:6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Colossians 3:17 “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

Leave a Reply

