Hands Up in the Air

Today is such a beautiful day. 85 degrees and sunny. As I’m sitting outside, sweating my behind off, I’m reflecting on how much God has taught me lately…especially in the past month. Recently, there has been so much change and new relationships in my life that has led me to saying, “God, I give up control and trying to plan my life because you clearly have a way better plan for me than I would ever have for myself”. Literally a month ago, I told God that I was completely okay with being single for as long as He planned for me to be. I actually was starting to be really content in the single life. It was then that I met a guy (out of complete nowhere) that loves the Lord and I am so happy to be dating now. A month ago I also told God that I’ll give up control when it comes to 1 Girl Nation. As most of you who are reading this may know, Kelsey left our group recently and our band went back and forth on whether or not we should find a new 5th member or keep it 4. With many deciding factors, God ultimately showed us that we should continue on as a 4 member group. Since it has been 4 of us in 1GN, we have seen God move in huge ways and open up new doors for us that we never could have imagined. We feel that God has allowed us to go through a hard season of relational and financial stress to build us stronger than we ever have been. The act of prayer and surrender is such a simple yet difficult thing to do as humans. We want to feel control, but ultimately control is held by God. We want to feel loved, but ultimately true love is found only through Jesus. Why do I ever try to make my own way? 

This reminds me of when I was younger. There were so many times where my parents and I would disagree about random things like what I was allowed to wear, whether or not I could hang out with a certain friend, or if my sister was allowed to borrow a dress of mine (all really important things, I know). I would get so mad if they told me “no” or tell me that I had to wait until I was older or until a different day. I would stay mad….until I realized my parents were right. It always seemed that my parents’ “no’s” were actually out of love and not to hurt me or upset me. I feel that lately I have learned that this is exactly how God works. We might not get things in the timing that WE want, but if God wants us to have something, He will give it to us. My point is this: surrender. Give God your desires and frustrations and I promise He will show you, in His timing, why He has you in the season you are in. Right now in my life, I feel God’s presence more than ever and feel such joy knowing that I am seeking what He wants for my life and not what I want. I don’t have everything figured out, but as my brothers and sisters in Christ, I encourage you all to do the same and surrender to what God has for your life. 

 

Bible verses:

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a future and a hope.”

Proverbs 16:9 “The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.”

Ephesians 2:10 “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”

4 comments

  1. Ida Pahus · May 6, 2014

    You are awesome Carmen!

  2. sweetysite · June 2, 2014

    Aww, why did Kelsey leave? Encouraging post, for I am still a kid. I have to get my sister to read this!

    • carmenjustice · June 5, 2014

      So glad you enjoyed the post and it was encouraging to you!! Also Kelsey just decided that the road life wasn’t for her and wanted to pursue other things. We wish her the best and also are super excited about everything that the 4 of us are working on for the future! Thanks for asking and following our band. We really love our fans and appreciate you! 🙂

  3. Lydia · December 17, 2014

    You’re right about surrendering,simple yet difficult. I can’t believe you came to the point of being content while being single:-),that’s a great feeling! Personally I get on and off with being content about that. For now,I just wanna be happy and live my purpose as I wait! Please pray for me. Thank you:-)

Leave a Reply

