Money Trees and Bumble Bees

Today=beautiful day. wrote a great song. ate my favorite salad. actually have time to blog. good day.

Seems like today I would be filling my blog with all of the amazing things and people God has placed in my life. I should be talking about how I’m super excited to see Augustana in concert tomorrow, or how inspired I am lately to write songs. I might even talk about how thankful I am to have good health, a great family, and amazing friends surrounding me. BUT today, the things that seem to invade my thoughts remind me of how human I am. Let me explain. 

Lately, if I’m being honest, I catch myself in a state of anxiety about the future. And to be completely transparent, I find myself worrying about money. To the outside world (based on my social media), it probably looks as if I live a millionaire lifestyle. Nobody would think that money is something I catch myself worrying about on a daily basis. Some days I think, “Why can’t money just grow on trees God?!” or “Don’t you hear me God? I’m trying to do work for your kingdom so why can’t you just bless me with just enough money to support myself?” It is a subject nobody really likes talking about because it can be sensitive or can be based on comparison, but isn’t it a subject that we all struggle with at some point or another?

I’ve come up with an analogy to describe this situation. Sometimes we can feel like we have money seeds that could potentially grow in to trees, but no actual money trees. But even the money seeds can feel like there are bumble bees flying all around trying to make me fearful of getting stung or to snatch those tiny seeds out of my hands. Those “bumble bees” can be distracting as we try to swat them out of our lives so that we can have the life we want or the amount of money we want. I’m learning that life is bound to have “bumble bees” everywhere. How we let those things stress us out or control our thoughts defines our character and also reflects our relationship with Christ. 

Now, let me preface this by saying one of my pet peeves. I dislike when I am overwhelmed by a situation or going through a rough season and people tell me “Just trust God and pray! He has a plan for your life!” Now as much as I DO know that those things are very true, it makes me feel insulted as if I don’t pray or trust God. I, in fact, do trust God with my entire life and believe that He has an amazing plan for me. However, life can be tough sometimes so the question is this: how do we respond when we feel like we have ZERO money trees and A LOT of “bumble bees”?? We water our seeds. That’s right. Our answer isn’t to focus on the things trying to take our joy away from our passions. Nope! We focus on what we DO have and DO know. For example I know that I can sing, dance, write, and, most of all, worship God. Those are my seeds I’ve been given. So I will water those things. I will sing with all my heart. I will dance and use my choreography skills to make my band’s live shows as good as possible. I will write as many songs I can with the best people I know and pray God will breath life into those songs. And in EVERYTHING I do, I will worship God. Those are the only things I know I can do so I will do them. My encouragement to you is this: water your seeds. Focus on what you can do to reach goals in your life and pray that God will reveal what your priorities should be. And know that this world is not our home so don’t worry about little bees getting in the way of the joy that only God brings;)

 

BIBLE VERSES:

Galatians 6:9 “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap a harvest, if we do not give up.”

Romans 12:12 “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”

1 Corinthians 3:6-8 “I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow. It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering. What’s important is that God makes the seed grow. The one who plants and the one who waters work together with the same purpose. And both will be rewarded for their own hard work.”

Colossians 3:23 “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men”

Proverbs 13:4 “The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.”

 

One comment

  1. sweetysite · April 21, 2014

    Thinking of ways I can use my seeds to worship God….

Leave a Reply

