Out of Nowhere

Don’t you ever feel like the best things in life aren’t planned? I always feel that whenever I try to plan something out, it always goes the exact opposite. Or any time I have thought my life was going to be a certain way…boom…complete change. Or a friendship was going to last a lifetime…boom...they’re gone. Career plan?…boom…that changed fast.  It’s funny how in the moment, we think that change is a horrible thing or that we won’t ever feel in control. That is, until we realize that not having complete control of our lives is a GOOD thing.

When I was about 4 or 5 years old, I went through a phase when my parents would catch me trying reading encyclopedias in our bonus room by myself (nerdy, I know). I told them I was going to be a doctor when I grew up. I would study the human body and wear my dad’s stethoscope around the house. A little later in life, I was almost positive that I was Pocahontas (literally, I had the whole costume). A few years after that, I tried softball (which I was horrible at). However, my whole life, the only “constants” have always been God, music, and dancing. The point is: my planning was clearly WAY off! I have recently realized that I am OVER planning out my life. 

I have been completely humbled lately by how God’s plan for my life is waaaay better than mine….also waaaaaaaay different than I would have ever imagined. Even in the past 2 years, people have entered my life and I have been reminded of God’s hand constantly orchestrating my life day by day. I am trying to take life as it comes. Enjoy each day as it is. Not worry so much about the future, and not dwell on the past. Life is so short so I want to have my focus on aiming to have Christ at the center of my life. So, here is my challenge to all of us:

1. Pray more, worry less.

2. Cancel our fantasy future lives that are in our heads and pray that God would clearly direct our paths.

3. Don’t make life harder than it needs to be.

4. Smile more:)

…and don’t forget…Live from the inside out! 🙂

 

Bible verses:

Proverbs 3:5-6: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.”

Philippians 4:6: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”

Matthew 6:24: “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

3 comments

  1. Taylor · April 11, 2014

    It’s posts like these that make me think you’re somehow writing about the “story of my life”, as the metaphor goes. I’ve always been a “planner” and have tried to plan out every last detail, but in the end things have always gone the opposite direction… Lately I’m starting to see how much better the opposite direction really is! I still have that “fantasy plan” in my head and I still worry some (unfortunetly I’ve always been a worrier), but in the past year I’ve gotten a lot better at trusting God. I’m still working on patience when it comes to seeing his plan;)… But I’m getting there. I really love this post, Carmen! I relate to it completely, and also… I’m going to accept your challenge that you wrote about above. It’s a good one 🙂

  2. sarahnamusic · April 11, 2014

    Thanks for this blog, Carmen. I love you guys songs.

  3. Sarah Magnolia · April 12, 2014

    This was amazing! Thank you for showing me that we need to look to God’s plans instead of our own… to follow where He leads instead of where we want to go. Proverbs 16:9

Leave a Reply

