Lately…

I realized that I haven’t written in a couple of weeks. It seems that when life gets busy, I lose track of things that matter to me….such as this blog! Anyways, I have learned a lot lately and God has been showing me things that honestly have been a complete smack in the face.

For example: This past week, Lauryn and I were fortunate enough to go to her aunts house on the beach because 1 Girl Nation didn’t have anything on our calendar for a few days. While we were there, I was able to take a step back and reflect on life… and MAN can I get consumed in things that don’t matter! I realized that #1. I haven’t been doing my devotions and quiet times like I should and #2. God has way different plans that I would have for my life. Now, I know some of you are thinking, “so what Carmen? no big deal”… but for me, I am realizing that God is showing me how important time with Him really is.

Last weekend, 1GN played a show and a little girl asked me at the signing table what my favorite Bible verse was. Don’t judge me, but honestly my mind was focused on a million other things such as a guy I had met the day before, social media, the dessert table that was in the distance (I have a HUGE sweet tooth), and I was trying to catch my breath as we had JUST gotten off stage. So when I was trying to answer this little girl, I could only think of about 1 or 2 verses TOTAL. How sad is that?! It was then that I felt super super convicted about my quiet time. If I was in God’s word every day, I would have had scripture to list off to her, but it seems that a lot of times I just rely on my phone or computer to look up verses or devotions. I understand that I don’t have to memorize the entire Bible or anything, but I feel like if I put quiet time with God as a priority in my life, it will be easy to have scripture on the tip of my tongue for when conversations like that happen. My pastor at Long Hollow Baptist Church said it really well in a sermon one time. He had a water bottle on stage and said, “What would happen if I opened this cap and turned the water bottle upside down and shook it really hard? Water would come out and splash everywhere right?” (He then continued to drench the stage with water!) His point in this metaphor was that just like water spilling everywhere when it was shaken up, the same happens to us when we are shaken up in life. Whatever is inside of us will come out! If we fill ourselves with negative thoughts, perverted entertainment, or surround ourselves with discouraging people, we will spill out a complete mess when life gets crazy. However, if we fill ourselves daily with God’s Word and are surrounded by people who make us better people, we will lean on God when life get crazy. We will even be filled with His Word for when little girls ask what my favorite verse is. 

God has also been showing me that this world is not my home. Go listen to “Hostage of Peace” by Tenth Avenue North. Seriously trying to make that my prayer lately. 

 

Bible verses: 

Matthew 6:6 “But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

Romans 10:17 “So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.”

 

And let’s remember to live from the inside out!

3 comments

  1. Sarah Magnolia · March 27, 2014

    Thank you for this. It was amazing and inspirational, Carmen!

  2. keepchangingme · March 27, 2014

    Wow! Thanks Carmen!! I needed to be reminded of this as well….I’ve been slacking on my quiet time with God to! So thanks for the reminder! Love you and what you do! Keep shining your light for Him! ✌️😊

  3. sweetysite · April 6, 2014

    I agree it was a wake up call for me…

Leave a Reply

