What Do I Wear Today?

What do I wear today? That is a question that girls ask themselves daily…and sometimes hundreds of times daily. How we dress and feeling good about how we look is a really important thing to girls. And that’s NOT a bad thing. I think that trying to look my best and taking care of myself is something that is respectable and shows that I care about how others perceive me. But where is the line? When does it go too far into a zone of “I just want people to like me so I’m gonna dress this way”? or “I want guys to think I’m cute so I’ll just pull my shirt down a little bit or show a little leg to get some attention”? The reason I am thinking about all of this today is because last night I was shopping and Pinteresting online (being super productive) and was particularly looking for some new jean shorts. It has been freezing in Nashville and it was a bit of wishful thinking to start looking at summer clothes! However, I seriously was having a hard time finding a pair of cute, trendy shorts that looked long enough to not be considered underwear!! How crazy is that?! When did it become the cool thing to wear shorts so short that I would feel uncomfortable wearing them in front of my guy friends? or my grandpa? or even worse… my pastor? ahhhh just thinking about showing that much skin literally would make me feel just plain weird. But it’s the “cool” thing these days. Now, don’t get me wrong. I don’t like wearing shorts to my knees. I’m just talking the normal, fingertip length that is comfortable to wear in any situation. My ideal outfit when the weather is super warm is a pair of shorts, cute tank, layered jewelry, and some sandals. SO. Whether it is cold or hot outside, how can we dress cute and trendy without compromising how God would want us to represent ourselves? Here are some tips that I’ve come up with to help:

1. Layers, layers, layers. When it is cold outside (like it is today in Nashville), a cool and trendy way to dress is to layer up with some scarves, jackets and cute hats or other accessories. I love these looks below! 

Image

Image

2. Try wearing some skinny jeans and then throwing on an oversized shirt or tank. Doesn’t add weight and is a look that’s super in style right now. 

Image

Image

3. For the summer and warmer weather approaching, this is my rule I try to go by: I put my hand right below my neck and if my shirt doesn’t come up to my hand then it is too low-cut. Here are some cool looks for summer that are modest but are still fashion forward!

Image

Image

Image

 

4. Last, but not least. My favorite fashion tip I like to go by is that if I have to question a piece of clothing then it’s a no. If you have to ask if a skirt is too short or if a shirt is too low, then it probably is. Here are some more looks that I love for the spring and summer seasons coming up!!

Image

Image

Image

Hope you found some of this helpful!!! Love you guys!

Let’s live from the inside out…even when it comes to our fashion style!! 🙂

Proverbs 31:30 “Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

Romans 12:2 “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

5 comments

  1. Taylor · February 11, 2014

    This is one of my favorite posts you’ve written! I love spring and summer clothes, but I have a lot of trouble finding outfits that I like that are also modest and fit me; but this post has helped a lot! The modesty tips are great, I have a little better idea of the styles I wanna look for, and I’m really looking forward to shopping for warmer weather this year. thanks Carmen!! 🙂

  2. Christina Hyde Eaton · February 12, 2014

    Hi Carmen! This was an excellent post about dressing appropriately. I totally agree with everything you have written and I think that the pics you posted were so great. about dressing stylishly. Keep looking forward to the spring and summer months because that is when all craziness breaks loose. Please find some good summer styles that keep girls from dressing crazy! What a great blog!

  3. Emma · February 12, 2014

    This was a great post. Modest clothes are hard to find, and what makes it harder is when the material for shirts is so thin you have to wear layers no matter what. This was a good reminder, thank you Carmen!

  4. Joanne Justice · February 13, 2014

    Well written. Have a good trip tomorrow!

    ________________________________

  5. Hayden · March 4, 2014

    Carmen,
    I am a HUGE fan of 1 Girl Nation! I decided to read your blog today and scrolled down and saw this!
    GREAT post! I TOTALLY agree! There are defiantly ways to dress cute and in style but modest!
    Thanks for this awesome post!
    GO 1GN!
    Hayden

Leave a Reply

