Authenticity: Transparency Beyond the “Onstage”

Today I’m sitting in Frothy Monkey in Nashville reflecting on how God has worked in my life in the past year. Mostly, I’m thinking about the platform I’ve been given. Honestly, I’m a little overwhelmed. I mean, wow. It makes me super happy and satisfied but at the same time terrified and undeserving. I have always dreamed about making music and performing for a living, so the fact that I am on my way to doing that just blows my mind. I truly find joy in what I do and can’t imagine doing anything else with my life. However, there are some days when I look at my life and say, “God, I really don’t deserve this. Do you not remember what I’ve done in my past? Do you not know the sinful thoughts I’ve had? If fans knew these things, what would they think?” Seriously, who am I to stand on a stage and sing about Jesus like I have it all together when in fact I do not at all? Actually none of us do (that’s another blog post for another day;)). But it’s a little overwhelming to have little eyes and ears watching everything I do. I would hate to set a bad example for young girls and guys.

So here is what I’ve been praying through lately: God help me be the same off stage as I am on stage.

I recently got to spend a breakfast with my dear friend from high school when I had some down time in Richmond, VA. He spoke truth into me that day which I don’t even know if he knows or not. He gave an illustration about how there are two sides of leadership. God gives some people platforms, which is on one side weighing pretty heavily. But on the other side, there are the off stage moments. The interactions with fans. The conversations with friends. The way we dress. The movies and music we fill our heads with. The random breakfast with a friend in Richmond. He said that the way you live your life in this area will make the platform side credible. Without the “offstage”, the “onstage” is worthless. It means NOTHING. I seriously have been praying about this since we had that conversation. When nobody is looking, is my life giving my platform credibility? Or is it all fake? When I googled “genuine”, this was the definition: truly what something is said to be; authentic. So here is my challenge for myself and for anyone reading this: let’s strive to be genuine. Whether we are in a place of leadership at our church or whatever jobs we have, let’s be transparent and genuine. Practice what we preach. We will NEVER be perfect. Only Jesus can be perfect. However, I wanna live a life full of transparency and boldness in Christ. 

 

A few verses i found awesome:

2 Timothy 3:12-“Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.”

Isaiah 29:13-And the Lord said: “Because this people draw near with their mouth and honor me with their lips, while their hearts are far from me, and their fear of me is a commandment taught by men.”

1 Corinthians 13:2-“And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.”

One comment

  1. Amber · February 18, 2014

    Wow. This is honestly something I needed to hear today. Thank you for posting this and I thank God for letting me fall upon it. It truly touched my heart.

Leave a Reply

