God–Don’t You Hear Me?!

So I’m going to be super honest with you guys. I have been in a rough place in life for the past 2 months. Just to reassure you though, nothing crazy has happened. Nothing has drastically changed in my life. Nobody has hurt me. But I think maybe THAT is the problem. I am at a stand still. You know, a “pause”. Everyone who knows me knows that I love to stay busy. I love keeping my days when I’m not playing shows on the road full of writing sessions, coffee dates with friends, running errands, or even visiting my management or label. I absolutely love those things. I think my personality is the type where I love feeling like I am a part of something big. Lucky for me, being a Christian artist is full of moments where I feel like I am a part of changing people’s lives for Christ or even just encouraging people through music. But lately, since 1GN hasn’t been as busy, I have felt anxious. Anxious to play more shows. Anxious to write more songs. Anxious to be around more friends. Anxious to quit my part time job and make money solely by making music. I feel that I’m just waiting for the next big thing to happen and for God to use me. It’s like I’m standing with my hands wide open saying, “Alright God! You can use me now!! I’m ready!! Don’t you hear me?!” ….and all I hear back is nothing. Just waiting. I have been trying to ask myself why I am this way and I have realized that there are pros and cons to my personality. I think a pro is that this energy and drive I have comes from passion. I have a huge passion to make music and to see God change lives right before my eyes. It is the most humbling experience to write songs, see them come to life in the studio, hear them for the first time mastered on an album, then sing them live while watching people be blessed by the lyrics. Seriously I don’t think there is a better feeling than that. Some cons to my personality, though, are discontentment and letting my struggles of the moment overtake and steal the joy from the bigger picture. SO….here are 5 things that I hope will encourage YOU today if you have ever felt this way:

1. Someone else is happy with less than what you have.

2. Don’t get bogged down with your progress, but enjoy the process.

3. (As cliche as this is) God’s timing is better than our timing.

4. The “perfect on paper” life most likely will not happen so be willing to accept the life God hands you. And accept it with gratitude.

5. Good things require work. Great things require sacrifice.

So now you all have had a look inside my mind lately. Life is good and today is a day that God made for me to be joyful. Love you all and thank you for reading.

“Let us run with endurance the race marked out for us” Hebrews 12:1

“The LORD is my strength and my shield; in Him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to Him.” Psalm 28:7

4 comments

  1. Linnea · January 16, 2014

    That kind of describes me perfectly. Good to know I’m not the only one…:)

  2. Taylor · January 16, 2014

    Carmen, I love your blog! I think it’s so cool how you share your heart through 1GN’s music but also through writing here. Also I wanted to say that I kind of know what you’re going through. I mean, I know the feeling of being at a standstill. For the past few years I thought I knew exactly what I was supposed to do with my life, and then a few months ago everything changed. God made it clear to me that I was supposed to wait, but I’m not exactly good at that, so that’s how I relate to what you’re saying. Somedays I find myself, like you mentioned, arms opened and crying out “You can use me now! I’m ready!”

    I just realized this comment is turning into a mini blog post of my own, but I really just wanted you to know that I get what you’re saying, and thanks for sharing your heart with us! Hope you have a blessed day 🙂

    • carmenjustice · January 16, 2014

      Thank you taylor!! That is so cool. So glad you can relate too! 🙂

  3. Britney · January 18, 2014

    Carmen 🙂
    thank you for sharing your heart and your faith!! you are right, the greatness in life comes from sacrifice. The days were I think or feel that I am not cut out for purpose God has spoken into my life I remember to trust in Him and lean NOT UNTO MY OWN UNDERSTANDING! But Acknowledge Him to see me through. I am hopefully in love with the way God directs the lives of those who love Him. You are blessed and highly favored for your heart you displayed before the Lord. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

