Things I’ve learned in 2013…

I was born on July 15th, so here are 15 things I’ve learned this year. (I realize my birthday has zero significance with this blog post but we’ll go with it)

1. Sometimes the things you think you want or need are really the things that God wishes you could rely on him for.

I have found myself this year wanting many things: a boyfriend… a song cut… a new dress… or even wanting more time to hang out with friends. I’ve learned that God wants us to truly rely on him for everything. That means that when I’m feeling lonely or not content with life, that he is all I need. Many times I forget that he gives me just enough for each day and THAT is where I should find my joy.

2. Media and the entertainment industry can be very fake. 

That’s right. I said it… and it’s true. I find it very important that people know (in case you don’t already know) that the media and entertainment industry can portray a person or situation any way they’d like, and the consumer (you) finds that to be reality. If you looked at my Instagram or Twitter right now you would probably think, “Carmen is always happy. She gets to be in a girl pop group and sing for Jesus and always gets along with everyone she works with. She gets to travel all over the world and never struggles with anything!” WRONG. Take any person in the spotlight (artist, pastor, news anchor, sports star) or a popular controversy such as the Duck Dynasty situation going on lately. You feel like you know those people when really you only know what you are told. I want every person following me that reads this to know that I am a normal girl. I love Jesus so much but I am not perfect at all. Every person I’ve met so far in the Christian music industry is the exact same way, too. We all are in need of a savior and that’s why we are so passionate about making music that people can relate to…because we ALL have fallen short of the glory of God.

3. Men and women will never be able to fully understand each other. 

I feel like I know a lot about guys. I honestly get along better with guys and have way more guy friends than I do girl friends. However, I will never understand what goes through guys’ brains and why they do things they do. I also realize that guys will never be able to understand us girls. We are truly complicated species.

4. Life literally goes by REALLY fast. 

I am already 22 years old and I feel like I was 16 yesterday. I know I am going to wake up someday and be like woah I’m 60! I’ve been learning to live each day to the fullest, as cliche as that may be.

5. Eating healthy and working out actually works. 

Everyone knows it, but we don’t do it. Why is food so good?!

6. The world is a lot bigger than Nashville, TN. 

This year I’ve been blessed to be able to travel to at least 15 different states and 6 cities in Canada. Sounds like a lot for a year but there is still so much of the world I haven’t seen yet. I realized this year more than ever how much I love traveling. Seeing things like Times Square for the first time or Mt. Rushmore or Niagara Falls are things that will stay in my memory forever. I can’t wait to see other countries and all the different cultures outside of America. Sometimes we are in a bubble and forget that the world is a lot bigger than what’s around us.

7. I underestimate prayer a lot. 

For real. Prayer works. Simple as that.

8. As much as you don’t want your past to affect you, it affects everything. 

This year I’ve been able to have some amazing mentors in my life who have helped me understand myself better. The common thread I’ve found in my decision making is that I naturally use my past to make decisions for my future. It’s almost humanly impossible not to do that. Sometimes it has been a hindrance in my life and other times it has brought great wisdom.

9. Summertime is way better than wintertime. 

Can I get a witness?! Cold weather literally can make me angry. Warm weather and sunshine is what makes this girl happy. Someone take me to a beach please!!!

10. It’s a good thing to not take life so seriously. Take it one day at a time.

What I try to live by: Live in the moment. Laugh at yourself. Make others laugh. Don’t be so serious all the time. Stressing about things gets you nowhere. Be the person who always brings light to a situation.

11. I have a really big problem when it comes to shoes and sunglasses. 

I always want shoes and sunglasses. Seriously, y’all. I could own every shoe and sunglass known to man.

12. I never take enough pictures of things that really matter. 

Don’t you feel that way sometimes?? I went through my phone the other day and found more stupid pics and selfies than I did of pictures of important things like friends I wish I could see more often. I gotta remember this…

13. I am a clean freak. 

Yep. I’ll admit it. Even the other 1GN girls call me Car-mom. However, I see nothing wrong with things being organized and sanitized. I guess that is a quirk about me. (Notice I said quirk, not twerk;))

14. It is an attractive thing to be confident in who you are. 

As I get older, I’m learning more and more that confidence is a beautiful thing. I feel that I know myself better now than I ever have in my life. I’m still learning more and more every day, but this year I have grown a lot in my confidence in my style, my songwriting, and myself as a person. When I’m looking for a future husband someday, I just love when a man is strong in who they are. I’ve also learned that when a woman is confident and grounded in who they are, guys tend to have more respect and desire for them. I know God has created us each to be unique and wonderfully made, so let’s be confident in that!

15. Love is what we all crave.

Simple truth. We all desire love because God put us on this earth to love and to be loved. Ultimately, though, God is the perfect example of love and gives it freely to those who put their trust in him.

These are things I’ve learned this year and I hope now you know more about me. Peace and blessins.

3 comments

  1. djfavor116 · December 22, 2013

    beautiful God bless. same experiences to minus the shades and the shoes and the touring.

  2. loidalemus · April 12, 2014

    God Bless you Carmen!

  3. praiseajewole · November 10, 2014

    so true. confidence is really a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

