THERE IS HOPE

A couple of nights ago I found myself watching the national news with one of the other girls in 1GN, Kayli, at a hotel after a show. For those of you who have experienced road life before,  you know that there is never really any time for tv. However, this night, I was glued to the screen because of a story about a little girl named Rebecca Ann Sedwick. This story made national news on CBS because bullying had caused this 12 year old to end her life. Bullying. Two girls in particular had harassed this girl saying things like “I hate you”, “You’re ugly”, “You’re worth nothing”, “You’d be better off dead”, and even at one point one of the girls said that Rebecca should “drink bleach and die”. After her death the 14 year old girl bullying her said on Facebook, “Yes ik [I know] I bullied REBECCA nd she killed her self but IDGAF [I don’t give a (expletive)]”. This sickens me. As I sat on the bed watching this story in my hotel room, I was in tears at the thought that a precious, little girl would think that her life had no hope or value. It absolutely wrecked me.

One article about this story said that on her computer, police found search queries for topics including “what is overweight for a 13-year-old girl,” ”how to get blades out of razors” and “how many over-the-counter drugs do you take to die.” Young people, especially girls, are dealing with pressures to look a certain way or to fit in that is causing them to do the unthinkable. I remember how it felt at ages 12 and 13 to want to fit in or look “cool”. Some things haven’t changed and are nothing new. However, I don’t remember having access to the internet 24/7 or living where it was easy to login to FB and immediately have private conversations with my friends.

The act of bullying has become such a horrible problem in the world, especially since the creation of FB, Twitter, Instagram, and all the other social media networks that allow kids to be able to talk to each other with no true emotional connection. It allows them to say things that they probably wouldn’t say in person. Parents have to realize that allowing their kids to have access to these things can give them access into the bullying world and the ability to view inappropriate conversations online. I’m not saying that kids shouldn’t be allowed to have these things. I’m just saying that parents should monitor their child’s social networks and allow for there to be a relationship where the child feels comfortable talking about problems going on at school.

At the same time… GUYS AND GIRLS… please take a stand at your schools and with your friends to stop this bullying problem. As much as you might think words can’t do much, they can. Words can even cause a little girl named Rebecca to think that there is no hope for her life when in fact, THERE IS HOPE. Jesus died on the cross so that we may LIVE. God has a plan for every single life and he loves you. Please help me spread this word by using social networking in a positive way and sharing this blog post and sharing the love of Christ in your schools, churches, and communities! I believe that one person can make a difference and that one person can be YOU!!

John 3:16  “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

John 13:34-35  “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

Leave a Reply

