Life on the Road

So I realized I havent posted in my blog in a solid month. Wow! 1GN started our tour with the Secret Keeper Girl Tour a few weeks ago and it has literally been a whole new world that I’m getting used to. Our typical day looks like this: 8am load in time/set up merch tables and stage backdrop, 11:30 lunch and devos, 1pm sound check, 2-5 break which is when I usually go for a run and shower, and then 6:30 show with a 6:05 pre-show. We have had a blast so far! There have also been a few rough patches that we have had to work through as a team. For example, yesterday we had an amazing day in NY! The whole day went so smoothly until late at night, everything seemed to go downhill. The first thing that happened was that half of our team missed the last bus back into New Jersey so we had to go pick them up from a random hotel. As if that wasn’t stressful enough, on the way to the hotel, we got a flat tire around 1am, so everyone at the hotel had to wait almost 3 hours for the bus to get there. Then, at about 4 this morning, our trailer completely broke off the back of our bus. It could have been so bad, even deadly, but luckily God had his shield of protection around us because it happened on an off ramp so no other cars were involved. So, we found ourselves this morning having to pack our bags to spend the day off at a hotel out in the middle of nowhere while our bus gets fixed. We also had to cancel our show for tonight which makes me so sad for the girls and moms who were planning on coming! Luckily we were able to reschedule that show! Sometimes life is that way though. Bad and stressful things are bound to happen. I am so blessed to be surrounded by a group of people that are so strong and hardworking despite difficult situations. I am particularly proud to be in 1GN. We seriously could have been grumpy and irritated with the situations of last night (and lack of sleep), but we all tried to just laugh things off and make fun of ourselves. I love that we try to not take life too seriously and keep things in perspective. We love social media (if you cant tell already) and there was a fan that said something to me that meant so much. She said, “All this means is that God is going to do something BIG and the devil doesn’t want to let it happen.” I believe God is using us on the road and on this tour and I cant wait to see what he will use us for. This whole lifestyle is crazy and abnormal but I wouldn’t want to do anything else. I’ve never felt more validated that I am right where God wants me to be. Certain aspects of being an artist are hard, such as finances and being away from family and friends so much, but there isn’t a better feeling than to be running toward what God has for me. Prayers are welcome for 1GN, our manager, road manager, production manager, SKG team, label, and everyone working so hard to use our music to impact the world….and remember, let’s live from the inside out!

One comment

  1. Wanda · September 12, 2013

    I can’t imagine. I’m so glad everyone is safe though.

    Keep trusting in Him and leaning on Him in the hard times.He’s got great plans for you!

    We’ll see you in November in Ontario!

Leave a Reply

