Look up!

That’s right. You. Right now. Look up and look around. Look at who is around or what is surrounding you right now. If you are outside, look at the sky. Whether it is rainy or sunny, isn’t the fact that weather just happens mind-blowing? And if you are inside, don’t you feel blessed to even be living today? These are things I don’t think we take enough time to think about. The reason why I said to look up is because most (actually all) of you reading this are either on your phone or computer. And I would be willing to bet that at least 75% of the people reading this right now are with other people.
Something that has really been catching my eye lately is how much we use technology. Phones and computers were made to enhance our work and social world and maximize opportunities, but how often are we abusing it? I was in a restaurant the other day and just looked around. Almost every table I saw had people in a group “hanging out” but they were all on their phones. There were families with small children whose parents were checking their Twitter or Instagram feeds. What is happening people?! If you are in a restaurant right now, I want you to observe this too.
Does this not strike anyone else as being plain wrong? As technology grows, the more we are relying on it and are being soaked up into it. Now, don’t get me wrong. My job as an artist requires MUCH of me in social media. I post all the time and look at my feeds all the time. So before I’m a hypocrite here, let me defend that I am a consumer and user of current technology trends and think that most of it is awesome. I am just recently realizing that relationships are so important. Living in the moment is so important. Giving people your undivided attention goes a long way. So, I challenge you to be convicted just how I have been convicted. Tell people you love them more and truly listen to them when you are with them and take breaks from your phone. I promise you will make it and won’t die. I actually left my phone at home the other day on accident when I went to church and thought I was going to miss out on so much. I went through about 4 hours without a phone because of lunch, etc. and came home to nearly nothing on my phone. I had missed nothing.
Let’s invest in relationships and love people more. Let’s look up. Let’s live from the inside out.
1 Corinthians 16:14 “Let all that you do be done in love”
One comment

  1. nashvillianne · July 18, 2013

    AMEN SISTA (but seriously)

Leave a Reply

