Exposed.

Have you ever felt like you are standing in front of a million trillion bazillion people and they are just staring at you? They see the good, bad, and ugly. They see mistakes as well as accomplishments. They laugh with you and also laugh at you.

I have totally felt that way. And not only have I felt that way, but I feel that my life is that way sometimes (And by sometimes, I mean all the time). The weird thing about it is that I feel like God likes us to live that way.

I know some of y’all just read that like “say whaaa?!?”…. but I’m for real. I think God loves to see us vulnerable and willing to show the people the REAL us.

Living a life of trying to hide what we are feeling or hide things that we have done in our past might seem like a great thing to do because none of us want people to know that we arent perfect. How many of us have had things happen to them like this:

(random person) “Hey how have you been? I haven’t seen you in forever!”

(us) “Oh, I’ve been so good! Job is going great and my friends and family are amazing!”

……uh….totally happened to me before. And then I walk away thinking, “Man, if they only knew what I’ve been through lately.” or “Wow, Carmen. You totally just lied to that person’s face.” What would happen if we lived a life of complete honestly, not only with ourselves, but with others and God? Isn’t that what people would call being genuine? Most of us would say that we strive to be genuine people, but it is definitely hard in a world telling us we have to be perfect.

SO. Here is my proposition:

Let’s challenge ourselves to be OK with being exposed. Being ok with people knowing our baggage or struggles and seeing what God may be trying to do with it instead of trying to shove it under a rug. Someone recently told me something that I thought was cool: that everyone has a story that is currently being written, and one day it will be a finished book. Right now God may be writing an exciting, climax of your story and your life is full of joy and happiness. But for others, God may be writing the struggle or a circumstance into your story that you don’t understand. You might wonder why someone else’s story seems like Cinderella in her castle with her Prince Charming while your story looks more like Flik in the beginning of A Bug’s Life where everything you do seems to go wrong and mess up everything going on around you. Here is the thing though… God has you right where you’re suppose to be.

So when I said earlier that God likes us to feel exposed and vulnerable, I meant it.  Let’s live life from the inside out!

Proverbs 19:1 “Better is a poor person who walks in his integrity than one who is crooked in speech and is a fool.”

2 Corinthians 12:9 “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”

Leave a Reply

