Alive

A good quote I heard one time was “To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.”

I’ve always remembered that quote for some odd reason. It comes to me in good times and in bad. To really “live”. Think about it… there are two things that just about every person in the world does every day: wake up and go to sleep. Everything that happens in between those two things is what makes every human unique and different. The way we handle life reflects our character. What does it look like to really live?

I went skydiving about a year ago. That is the closest I have ever felt to what death might be like. I know that sounds pretty brutal but let me explain. As I was free falling thousands of feet above the earth, I thought the craziest things I have ever thought in my life. “What did I just do?” “What if the parachute doesn’t work?” “If I die, what will my family do?” “What does it feel like to die?” ….and the craziest question, “What kind of impact have I made in my life so far that people would remember me by?” The sad part to remembering this story is that many days I forget how I felt that day. Many days I live so selfishly and in a pile of worries. My days seem consumed with what the earth would call “life”. My landing was actually wonderful and I look back at that day as an adventurous and memorable day I’ll never forget. But sometimes I wish I could always live with that heart pounding feeling in my chest so that my life and decisions reflected that urgency to really do something in my life. Make a difference. Start something new. Be courageous. God intended for this life to be joyful and adventurous. He wanted us to enjoy people and invest in relationships. God reminds us constantly in the Bible of how short life is. He reminds us that we WILL go through hard times, but that he will be faithful in return to show us his sovereignty and will for our lives. So we just have to trust Him and go for it!

GOD WANTS US TO LIVE OUR LIVES TO THEIR FULL POTENTIAL!

Here are some ways that I feel like that can be done: (some of these are just my opinions;))

-laugh more

-invest in friendships

-look for the good in situations

-pray all the time

-if you’re craving ice cream, just eat that ice cream!!

-don’t overanalyze everything

-allow yourself to be alone sometimes

-be confident in who you are

-find what your passionate about and find a way to make a living doing it

-don’t make excuses for yourself

-dance frequently

-keep your life and house somewhat organized

-read the Bible

-do spontaneous things

-do acts of kindness for others not expecting anything in return

-stay fit

-lose pride and entitlement

-be yourself

God intended us to live this very short life to its fullest and for His glory!

so when we think of the quote at the beginning of this blog, be that small percentage of people who live life joyfully and with passion. Don’t just exist. Be ALIVE.

“Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” James 4:14-15

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.” Colossians 3:23

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

One comment

  1. Kevin Justice · March 21, 2013

    So proud!… what great spiritual maturity!… and so well written. Praying constantly for God’s favor in your life and for what He will do through 1GN! Much Love!

Leave a Reply

