TIME

“Time” by Carmen Justice

Time is moving all around,
it speeds up when I slow down;
running from me, it catches wind
I wonder when it will come back again.
Colors paint the evening sky,
but soon those colors say goodbye;
trees grow and flowers bloom,
but winter comes way too soon.
Water turns to mist in the air,
young and free turns to gray hair;
first times turn to seconds and thirds,
and mistakes turn to lessons learned.
How I wish I could stop just for a while,
take a pause to sit, and a break to smile;
there are many moments that don’t last long,
so I’ll take them in, then carry on.
I once thought the world was big,
so much room to grow and much life to live;
but now know the world is small,
and time cannot slow down at all.
Leave a Reply

