Why Thinking Has Ruled My Brain

So I haven’t written a blog in quite some time. It’s because I have been thinking a lot lately.

Thinking can be great and bad all at the same time.

REASONS WHY IT’S GREAT: 1. I can process everything going on in my life. 2. Remember things that I possibly would have forgotten if I wouldn’t have slowed down long enough to clear my head. and 3. I can take that time to breathe and rest my brain.

REASONS WHY IT’S BAD: 1. I realize I actually have way more things to get done than I thought I did. 2. I overanalyze situations that usually don’t need to be overanalyzed. and 3. I can get lost in a fantasy world made up by my own brain.

The main thing I have been thinking about is life. “What is important in life?” is a question I have asked many times to myself lately. I say to myself, “Self, what are your values in life and what do you care about the most?” I have learned that it is so easy to get caught up in everything going on around us. We lose sight of these questions and they end up floating to the back of our minds until the next time we decide to really think. Here are my answers to my own questions:

I have started to really believe the saying, “Find what you love, make it your job, and you’ll never work a day in your life.” That is the first thing that I have learned. I have always loved singing and dancing. Since I was a little girl, I have always dreamed of being an artist for a living someday. Now, after 21 years of life, things are starting to happen and it is definitely by God’s will that I am where I am today. It may sounds like a fairy tale story, but it probably won’t be. At some point I will fail. At some point I will go through something really hard. BUT because I love it and God has placed this passion in my heart, I will be happy. I love the verse in the Bible that says, “When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. Ecclesiastes 7:14”. This is true for everyone. Wherever we are at, we should let the joy of the Lord shine through us. Whether we hate our jobs or have our dream jobs, God has placed some kind of passion in us and we need to find it, embrace it, and use it to the best of our abilities.

Another thing I have thought a lot about lately is that love is really crazy. Why do I love chocolate so much? Why do we love to feel accepted? Why do we feel sympathy towards strangers we don’t even know? Why is it that our hearts melt when we see newborn babies? Why is it that someone can want to marry you one day and then break up with you the next? Why do we love sunsets? ……I don’t have answers to these questions, but these are just a few of many questions about love. All I know is that God created love. I also know that He gives and takes away in order to ultimately show us His love. 

The last thing I have put some thought into is change. The world is constantly changing. People are constantly changing. If we do not accept or like change then we will not be able to fully have the joy that God wants for us in our life. Sometimes we as humans try to hold onto the past. We think that a person or situation will revert back to “how it used to be” when, in fact, that person or situation has changed. Life has moved on. This can be the best thing in the world and the worst thing in the world to realize. It can be so hard to let go of something so dear to you. However, God has called us to seek first his kingdom which means that he might have a completely different plan for your life than you had in mind… and we are called to be OK with that. Change can be so refreshing though. When life changes, it gives you a chance to restart or remodel your mindset. Change has to be accepted by Christ followers.

As you can probably tell, my thoughts are a bit scattered and I have thought a lot about these topics. I hope at least some of you can relate to things I have had in my head and you’ll know there is someone else thinking about these things too. I hope I can also encourage each of you reading this. Here are some Bible verses to think about for the next few days:

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

James 4:14-15 “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”

Leave a Reply

