“Are We There Yet?”

Patience.

I think everyone hates this word. When we are going through something difficult in life, most people’s advice is, “Just be patient” or “Just wait on God’s timing”. As much as we know it’s true, we hate hearing that. Especially in America, we want instant gratification. We want things right then, right there. But why is this our human instinct? Don’t you wish we could change this?

I know I do. Patience is something I have to pray for daily. I teach kids voice and dance lessons so I have learned how to have patience in that way. However, when it comes to relationships or the “tough stuff” in life, it is hard for me to be patient and fully trust that God knows what he is doing. Isn’t it easy for us to give God 95% of our lives, but that one thing in our life we want to control seems impossible to let go? We might even get a little crazy and give God 99%. However, complete surrender is what God has called us to do. When we learn how to completely surrender our whole lives to God, we will learn how to have patience in situations we cannot understand.

Whenever I can, I try to attend the young adult worship service called Kairos at Brentwood Baptist church in Brentwood, Tn. Tonight, the preacher talked about this very topic. Here are a few of the notes I took from tonight: “Surrender: Lay down what we want for our lives so that God can give us what he wants for our lives. Sometimes God calls us to give up and surrender the good and bad things. He is going to call you to do something that matters.” This sermon really got me thinking about how it is easy for us to give up bad things such as drugs, alcohol, lifestyle choices, etc. because we know deep down that they are not good things we should be doing. However, tonight I realized that God has called us to sometimes give up the good things in our lives too. That could possibly mean moving out of our comfort zones. Sometimes when we think we have our whole lives together and perfect, God will completely change that. Not because he is a mean God, but a just God that sees a bigger picture than we do at the time.

In times of waiting, I have learned that it is best to spend my time wisely and grow in my walk with God. I hope this is an encouragement to anybody who feels like they are in an “in between” stage of life. Whether you are figuring out what job you will have, post-college plans, what relationships you’ll have, or where you will be living next year, know that God sees what we do not. Patience is something we should strive for every day. Having peace in our hearts is so pleasing to God and he will truly bless us for that.

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him” Psalm 37:7

“And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience.” 1 Colossians 1:10-11

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” Romans 12:12

“I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope.” Psalm 130:5

“Love is patient…” 1 Corinthians 13:4

“Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!” Isaiah 30:18

“But I trust in you, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in your hands; deliver me from my enemies and from those who pursue me.” Psalm 31:14-15

Leave a Reply

