Out of My Hands

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a very passionate person. Not just with music stuff. If I am happy, I am VERY happy. If I am upset, I will be crying. If I feel strongly about something, I will state my opinions. You get the picture. Something I’ve been dealing with lately, though, are situations I cannot control. We all have these types of situations where we wish we could do something, but there is nothing we can do to change the outcome. No matter what emotions we have in these situations, the end result is out of our hands. How do we deal with moments in our lives that we cannot control and what emotions are we suppose to have? Better yet, how does God call us to react in these moments of confusion and frustration?

We are called to literally give our lives to Christ. Not part of it. ALL of it. God speaks in Revelation chapter 3 about being lukewarm and how unpleasing it is to the Lord to be neither hot or cold. To put our whole heart and trust in God’s hands is not as easy as it sounds. As humans, we sometimes think that we can do everything on our own. God may lead us in a direction but we are clinging on to the opposite end of the rope, pulling the opposite way. Recently, I have gone through a whirlwind of events in my life that has caused me to take a step back to examine what has happened. Especially with relationships, I sometimes put a picture in my head of how everything will turn out in the end and when something goes wrong, I am in complete shock that it’s not what I had imagined. This happens to all of us when there are things such as a death in the family or something at work goes the opposite of how we wanted it to work out. We sit there thinking, “This isn’t suppose to happen like this!!”… But what if it is? What if the very things we are struggling and coping with are happening in our lives for a reason? I believe that God is a very intentional God. He very intentionally created this earth with such precision, so why is it hard for us to believe that he is in control and we are not?

A verse that I have been really leaning on the past few weeks has been a verse that one of my best friends sent to me when I was having a hard day. Isaiah 55:8-11… “‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord. ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

Seriously so refreshing. How incredible is it that (no matter if we like it or not) the God of the universe’s ways are always going to be greater than our ways and he will accomplish what he needs to in our lives. Do we 100% trust in that? For me, that scares the crap out of me. Part of my human nature does not want to give my entire life to God, but that is exactly what he has called us to do. Not give in part, but to give our whole lives to him so that his will may be done through us. Sometimes this may mean that we do not get what we want. Even as Christians, relationships fall apart, death of friends and family is still present, economic struggles still occur, and we are sometimes called out of our comfort zones. Hebrews 12:11 says, “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” So we have to trust whole-heartedly that God is in control and we are not. This means that in situations we cannot control, we are still to be joyful because we have the God of the universe on our side. We cannot place our trust and joy in people or earthly things because they will fail us. We have to continuously pray that God will keep our hearts at peace and that we will be joyful in all situations.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding,” Proverbs 3:5.

“Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” Jeremiah 29:11.

 

Leave a Reply

